McKaig Leadership Fund

The Dean Richard McKaig Leadership Fund is used to support undergraduate and graduate student leadership activities at IUB. Funds are awarded to individuals or organizations in both the spring and fall semesters.

Applicants must be a registered student organization, or a member of a registered student organization and have a valid Student Organization Account (SOA).

Organizations or individuals who have recieved the award in the last 3 years are not eligible to apply. View previous winners.

Requests will be accepted for awards up to $1000 to be used in the 2016-2017 academic year.

Applications Materials
Executive Summary (1 page)

The executive summary must describe what the leadership activity is, who is involved, and provide a timeframe for the project. What are you asking for and what are you going to do with the funds received?

Program Description and Need Statement (no more than 2 pages)

Clearly state your goals, objectives, related activities, outcomes for participants and evaluation procedures.


  • How will this activity or program impact the university?
  • Are participants or groups funded able to bring back to campus what is learned?

It is important to include an explanation/justificaiton of why funds are necessary and the value of the program.


You must include a line item budget with your application. Please explain how much money is being requested and how it will it be spent. If the money is being supplemented from other sources, please include a brief history/purpose of the organization providing the funding.

Letters of Recommendation

Please provide two letters of support for your request.

How to Apply

Gather the documents described above and submit your materials using our online form. 

Applications for the Richard N. McKaig Leadership Award open Monday, January 9, 2017 and the deadline to apply is Friday, February 24, 2017.  Awards will be announced on Friday March 3, 2017.